Baltic Air Policing

The Baltic air-policing mission is a NATO air defence Quick Reaction Alert (QRA) in order to guard the airspace over the three Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

NATO members without their own Air Policing assets are assisted by other NATO members. Since March 2004, when the Baltic States joined NATO, the 24/7 task of policing the airspace of the Baltic States is conducted on a three-month rotation by other NATO countries.
The Belgian Air Force was the very first to take up this role in March 2004 and have been rotating ever since.